What Does Kosher Really Mean

What Does Kosher Really Mean
0 5


In Hebrew, “Kashrus,” from the root kosher (or “kasher”), means suitable and/or “pure”, thus ensuring fitness for consumption.
The laws of “Kashrus” include a comprehensive legislation concerning permitted and forbidden foods. There are several aspects to these dietary rules. We will consider each aspect in turn.

The Torah permits only land animals which both chew the cud and have cloven hooves.  Four animals are specifically identified as being forbidden for this reason; the Hare, Hyrax, Camel, and Pig – although the camel has two toes, and the hare and Hyrax are Hindgut fermenters rather than ruminants.

The Torah lists winged creatures which may not be consumed, mainly birds of prey, fish-eating water-birds, and bats. The Torah permits fish residing in “the waters” (seas and rivers) only having both fins and scales.


The Torah forbids creeping things that crawl the earth (Hebrew: sheqetsand “flying creeping things“, with four exceptions: two types of locust, the beetle/cricket, and the grasshopper.

Kosher food is food prepared in accordance with Jewish Dietary Laws. While Jewish Dietary Laws originated in the Bible (Leviticus 11 and Deuteronomy 17), they have been codified and interpreted over the centuries by rabbinical authorities

Cool Links 

  1. Kosher animals

  2. Food Regulation in Biblical Law



0 5

Straight Outta My Kitchen

Hi, I'm Chris I've been working in kitchens for almost 20 years. Straight Outta My Kitchen is about Sustainable Fresh Local Products. Content Simple Easy Recipes to follow along at home. Straight Outta My Kitchen will strive to produce quality content on home cooking, cast iron, recipes, Product reviews, Food Photography and other things as I go along Looking forward to see how this all pans outs. When It comes to eating I definitely enjoy great flavors, seasonal inspired, great home cooked meals. Growing up I was always in the kitchen learning, watching, learning what does and doesn't go well together. Well Thanks for stopping by here and checking out my photos hope the make you hungry and want to go cook.

There are currently no comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.